Massive + lovely house: double bedroom (ensuite)

  • Ad ref# 15973690
  • 32 days old
Area:
Archway
Postcode:
N19
Available:
Now
Min term:
3 months
Max term:
None
Short lets considered:
Yes

Double room:
£299pw (en suite)

A lovely double room (with private ensuite shower/WC) in a VERY spacious home. Masses of space + natural light inside -- we love living here ... read on!

I've been here a decade & hope to stay forever...Eulalie moved in with me 3 years ago.

There are 3 bedrooms in my home, all well-separated from each other (by at least 2 doors & 30 feet) and the property is more than twice the size of a normal 3-bed house at 2,200sq ft (=201m sq) -- a spacious, beautiful & unique converted warehouse: a former Victorian Post Office near the bottom of Highgate Hill — a minute from Archway zone 2.
🖥️📲
Ideal for WFH (Working From Home, with 100-130MBPS superfast broadband direct from the router into your room via Ethernet cable) OR for getting the HELL away from work and having some peace and quiet!
🛏🚿
• Double Bedroom+Private Ensuite Shower/WC
👫
Suitable for single OR double occupancy (NB because all bills & cleaning are included in the rent, please see the couples supplement below, which reflects the bill portion, etc)
🌈✅
LGBTQ+++friendly
📹
VIDEO: I should have tidied my bedroom first...but you might as well see who I really am! Anyway: you'll get the idea of the house from my video tour ... with me talking too fast + too much!
🤐
— Bedroom is 3.5m x 3.4m = 12 sq metres (130sq ft) with King-size double bed / good natural light / curtain + blackout blinds / radiator / lockable bedroom door
🔑
— Good storage: built-in wardrobe + bookshelves / 4-drawer chest / small (freestanding) wardrobe / 4 big under-bed drawers
🏡
My home has 3 double bedrooms, and at 2,200sq ft (201m sq) it is about TWICE the size of a normal 3 bed house, with 3 distinct living zones:

1. massive ground floor (2 sofas + 2 chairs + Steinway grand piano, tuned regularly & in very good condition)

2. sitting-room area upstairs (2 sofas + 2 chairs, a hammock, hifi+projector onto 3m x 2m wall) 🎞️🎥

3. dining area (table seats up to 12) next to the kitchen -- which is REALLY great for cooking / entertaining friends (& has been used in the past for filming cookery TV adverts!)

Due to the space between the 3 bedrooms (2 doors + at least 30 feet separation from each other) and in conjunction with the open-plan warehouse/loft spaces in between, it never feels crowded here.
🍷
Uncrowded “New York loft-style" living in a well-insulated, central-heated converted Post Office: high ceilings & masses of natural light.
🛌
There is space available within the house (double or single beds) for visiting friends/relatives -- unexpected guests are welcome to stay overnight (but please check with me if you're inviting friends for any longer...though that usually isn't a problem)

You’d be living alongside me, my partner (Eulalie) & my other tenant (Daniel).

Agnés [vacating her room] has bought a flat round the corner!

Daniel (tenant) 30, Scottish, has been here since 2018 -- lovely guy -- he heads up national debt-advice planning for the Money And Pensions Service . Gamer. Malt whisky fiend. Foodie. Philosopher & blogger.
🎶🏊
Jonny (resident landlord) professional musician in my 40s (jazz & classical double bass) — I also freelance in FinTech + Life Coaching. Sometimes away on tour, often work evenings (but not during Lockdowns!). Outdoor swimmer, freediver & wild camper... “clean” food eater (mostly organic; inc. wild / organic meat, etc).
🎶🏊🏻‍♀️
Eulalie (my partner) also swims & is an amazing cook (and a top professional violinist & professor) -- we have friends & family over from time to time; housemates always welcome to join us. This tends to happen roughly once a fortnight or so...and we all ate very well during Lockdown 2020 ... healthy + delicious food.

Severl previous tenants (male & female) still swim with me all year round in Hampstead Ponds ... 1°C midwinter, 18+°C from May ... several other former housemates come round for food & to hang out.
🍅🍆🍅🍎🍐🍋🧀
Saturdays I usually head to Parliament Hill farmers market (artisan bread, great cheeses, fresh fish, organic meat & veg)
🎥
Film projector & hi-fi for occasional big(-ish) widescreen movies on the wall: 3m x 2m
🐈‍⬛
I have a very friendly little cat; 20 years old, but youthful! She knows not to go into the bedrooms & spends much of the day curled round my shoulders like a living scarf!
☀️
Upstairs: roof terrace suntrap; spacious kitchen; adjacent large dining area (seating 8-12 people); sitting-room area with large leather chairs & sofa & my little upright piano(& TV hidden away in cabinet).
🍎
Downstairs is a huge (9m x 6m) living space with 2 leather sofas, my mum’s Steinway grand piano (concert quality) & my double bass; small courtyard garden with 3 fruiting apple trees.
👍
Brilliant transport links:
🚇zone 2: quiet culdesac 90 seconds from Archway tube
+ masses of bus routes
[134, C11, 4, 17, 41, 43, 143, 210, 263, 271, 390, W5, N20 ]
🚉4 minutes from Upper Holloway overground + 3 reliable minicab offices nearby
🚲 Bike rack just inside front door
🌳
Waterlow Park (& Highgate Cemetery) 5 minutes away -
10 mins walk to Hampstead Heath
🎭
Camden Town is about 10 mins by bike; cycling into central London takes 20-30 minutes (e. g. Covent Garden, Borough Market, Southbank Centre) ...which is about the same as by tube. [We are at the BOTTOM of Highgate Hill, which makes the ride home easy!]
🚗
• Parking: residents can park their vehicle here (the cost for Islington Residents Parking depends on how polluting your vehicle is: my old van is a bit less than £1 per day...cars are usually less...and there's an electric car charge point right outside.

• 💷Your Deposit (one-off) can be held in Government Approved scheme
• 📜Sample Tenancy Agreement (from The Law Society) available — to keep things clear & avoid any confusion...ie it protects you & me equally!
• Price* per calendar month INCLUDES monthly bills (Telephone, Broadband / Internet, TV Licence, Electricity, Gas & Water)
• Also included: Council Tax & weekly cleaner (your room fortnightly)
• Couples supplement for double occupancy only: usually £200pcm (but this figure is directly linked to current contract for dual-fuel energy, council tax etc: check the listing info + pricing for current couples supplement)
[NOTE: as of Nov2021: £50pw = £217pcm, due to the recent price-hike in fuels, worldwide]

Please call/email if you've any questions ... or pop round to meet up & check out this amazing space & ask the questions face-to-face.

Viewing now.

Jonny & Eulalie (+Daniel)...& Dot!🐈‍⬛

Contact the advertiser

Sorry, the room is no longer available

Read our safety tips.


Watch my YouTube video


Location info

  • Archway
  • N19
  • (0-5 minutes walk to Archway station)

Extra costs

Deposit
£1,500.00
Bills included?
Yes

Amenities

Furnishings
Furnished
Parking
Yes
Garden/terrace
Yes
Balcony/Patio
Yes
Disabled access
Living room
shared
Broadband included
Yes

Current Household

# housemates
2
Total # rooms
3
Ages
29 to 41
Smoker?
No
Any pets?
Yes
Language
English
Occupation
Professional
Interests
music, cooking, yoga, cycling, hiking, swimming, outdoors, cats, personal development, being outside, the environment, peace, social justice, massage, coaching
Gender
1 Female, 1 Male

New Housemate preferences

Couples OK?
Yes
Smoking OK?
No
Pets OK?
Yes
Occupation
Don't mind  
Min age
21
Gender
Males or females

View on map

To EMAIL or PHONE the advertiser, please scroll up this page - there is a box entitled "Contact the advertiser". You can call or email from there.

Help topics

Report this ad

We have staff moderating our ads 7 days per week, to keep quality high. Please help us in our job and let us know if there is any problem with this ad, e.g.:

  • The photos are not of the room advertised
  • The description is misleading
  • The ad is generic rather than for a specific available room
  • The advertiser is not a live in landlord